Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Smarties Trail Mix

All pictures are courtesy of nestle

I have a huge sweet tooth, o.k, make that a Smartie tooth! Smarties have been a huge part of my life, I know that sounds very strange, but it is true.

Growing up abroad, you tend to dine on international cuisine, tropical fruits, and deep-fried bananas. Chocolate was a very rare commodity, in fact, it was so rare that as kids, we traded chocolate at school like inmates trade cigarettes.

Now as I travel, I find that globalisation has made it very easy to find just about anything anywhere, including Smarties. When travelling or moving around, your cravings for very simple things can be fixed pretty easily.

When I was growing up around the world, there was nothing. Buying an apple meant you had to buy it on the black market. Smarties did not exist anywhere but Canada, well, they did in Europe, but for the sake of this story, they didn’t.

Anytime a member of the Embassy traveled, the requirements were always the same, to bring back Smarties for the kids. It was a cheap way to buy kids affection, but seriously it worked like a charm. As some people pass sad moments with these tasty rainbow coloured treats, I remember every happy moment I shared with a tube of Smarties (now it is a box).

I graduated high school with a box, I finished my last University exam with a box.  I had them at my wedding, in fact, I designed a candy bar just so that I could share the moment with some Smarties. I shared many late night feedings with a box of Smarties. and every time I have gone on a business trip, I have brought a package of Smarties. At one point, I was so addicted that I had to go cold turkey, which gave me the shakes. I have now been Smartie free for way too long, but it is either the Smarties or the white jeans that I want to fit into, I have chosen the white jeans. I have always eaten the red ones last!

If you haven’t had them in a while, or never tried them. Buy a box and see if you eat the red ones last!