Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

A continuation of this post here

The Berlin wall coming down represented so much of what my Father stood and worked for. The culmination was really a history of diplomatic affairs and expressions of peace (you might argue that one, but I am just simplifying) For a career diplomat, watching and knowing what change would come, was a profound moment to share with him, The thing is, my Father didn’t share much, and never discussed his childhood or his parents. My Grandfather was a fighter pilot, my Father in turn hated fighting, and in many ways hated what my Grandfather and his generation stood for. My Grandfather in history books is all I know, I never met him, and my Father tragically died when I was 19.

So, in a sense, Berlin was a chance to visit a city that both men (both ghosts and enigmas in my life) came together and made peace. It was the first time I actually understood what both saw in life, and what they wanted for the future, the same thing, just different paths to get there. The thing is, watching the wall come down, and talking to my Father about it, was the first time I actually had a conversation about politics and the world with him. As the physical wall was coming down, so was my Father’s wall. After that day, we forged a new bond, and I forged a passion for travel and politics.