Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

I don’t know about you, but no party or gathering is complete without a great dessert or two (here and here). I love to bake, but I actually don’t do it too often, and I hate buying treats (there is a lot of garbage in it), so, I have kept the mantra that my great-grandmother had “everything in moderation”. When our son started eating, I figured that we would lead by example, I don’t make food an issue, nor should it. So, what we eat is what he eats. We like to stay as healthy as possible, and if we are going to have something sweet, I make it and know what is in it.

This cake is basic, can be made in most countries and can be modified. Yes, I have made this recipe in 4 countries and several times when travelling around Canada. Just to let you know, all of the ingredients I have found in Asia, Europe and South America.

This is the recipe that I also use for our sons birthday cake, it is low in sugar, which cuts down on a sugar spike.

1 3/4 cup of flour

1 cup of sugar

3 1/4 tsp. Baking Powder

1/2  or 3/4 cup of sugar  – I make it with 1/2 cup

1 tsp lemon extract

1 egg

3/4 cup of milk and 1/4 cup of yoghurt or 1 cup of milk (you can even use the shelved milk)

Bake at 350 degrees

Then there is the lovely icing! This recipe can be used with chocolate, whipped cream (which I use for our son) or this Sturdy Whipped Cream icing:

1 (8 ounce) package reduced-fat cream cheese, soften

1/2 cup powder sugar

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

2 cups heavy cream

Beat until peaks form at the top!

I always add fruit. With this recipe you can use frozen raspberries or blueberries or fresh strawberries. It also tastes great with mango – or you can have it plain.

The cake takes 10 minutes to prepare, I never ice it perfectly, I like putting a thin amount and then putting the icing in a bowl for people to add extra, along with a fruit bowl. Wait for it to cool and then the icing takes about 5 – 10 minutes with an electric beater. This is a happy cake that everyone will enjoy!

Happy Baking,

Travel Lady