Tags

, , , , , , , ,

 

When my Father passed away, he was at peace. He had been through a horrific year of a battle that he was unable to use words to get out of.  He was ready, he had lived his life without regret, had made an impact on everyone who had ever been around him, and had left a family that adored him. Although I knew him as a Father (I wrote about him in My Diplomatic Father), I barely knew him as an individual..  At 14 I announced that I wanted to work for the U.N. my Father looked at me, nodded and began to give me lessons, lessons that had been buried, but remembered as I began to work in the same building he had for so many years. I felt honored that I got to read briefings that he had written, that a few colleagues pulled me aside and told me stories of a man who I thought I knew. Over the last couple of years, I have discovered what my Father had truly tried teaching me before he passed away.

1. Being happy is not just a state of mind. It is something that takes work, and you have to be willing to cut people out, in order to achieve it.

2.Ambition does not equal money hungry, it doesn’t mean you step on people to get to the top, it doesn’t mean you sacrifice everything for that one goal. It is simply a drive to be the best you can be, to make a difference in your field, and put a footprint on this earth.

3. Take care of everyone around you, no matter how successful you become, always get to know the people who clean your office, who come and pick up the garbage, your bus driver etc. they are people, they do meaningful work, and there is nothing different from you and them.

4. There are asses everywhere, but it is the grace and honour that you show, that sets you apart.

5. Always be true to yourself, in what you say and what you do, never compromise that.

5. Your family can be the most toxic people around you, they can be suffocating and want to pull you down. You should never feel obligated, or guilt ridden to be with them. Someone who stands in your way to being a better person, is never worth your time.

I think we are all trying to achieve happiness in some way. When I receive ill-informed comments, or nasty e-mails, there is a part of me that reads them, and thinks it is sad that they felt the need to write something so hateful, sarcastic and menacing. I don’t live my life with regret, I don’t surround myself with negativity or hate. If I don’t have anything nice to say, i am not about to say it.

Have a very happy day, and a lovely journey, thank you for stopping by.

Travel Lady