Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

I want to share an incredible artist with everyone. Robin Coupland, someone I met many years ago at the U.N. I had no idea that along with being a surgeon and playing a key role in the International Committee of the Red Cross. He also has a talent with a paintbrush! Many of his pieces are of controversial subject matter, and of things that he witnessed. There is one painting in particular that always intrigued me and well, if I could have, I would have bought it, Swiss Kiss.

Many who haven’t traveled to Switzerland, have no idea that a greeting is 3 kisses on the cheek. This painting, for so many reasons, represents every trip I took to Geneva to take my seat at the U.N. sometimes for many hours of negotiations, and  sometimes having a coffee and e-mailing my boss during a standstill in negotiations. Every moment in Geneva represented a dream that I got to live out.

Last year during our travels, I attempted to make a trip to Geneva to see Robin’s exhibit, but was unable to get there. I have had the pleasure of seeing one exhibit,  all of his paintings are beautiful, awe-inspiring pieces. My husband has promised me another trip, but this time, one of those painting is coming back with me!

If you ever get a chance to visit Geneva, see if Robin Coupland is exhibiting his pieces. Listen to his story, you won’t regret it.

Travel Lady with Baby

If you want to see more of his work you can here: http://www.pic2d.com/robincoupland